Skip to main content

First Tennessee-Virginia Development District



The First Tennessee-Virginia Development District is an association of local governments in upper East Tennessee and southwestern Virginia. The association includes Carter, Greene, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi and Washington Counties, Tennessee; Washington County, Virginia; and the twenty-three municipalities within the nine counties. The region forms a unified economic and social center. The development district serves the nine-county area by providing a forum for local officials to discuss problems, coordinate service agencies, and assist local governments applying for federal or state grants. Since its formation in 1966, the development district has helped to promote cooperation among the region's government agencies for a consolidated development of the area's social and economic resources.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

First Tennessee-Virginia Development District Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: AppMs-0085

The collection is arranged in 3 series: Series 1, Minutes, April 1966-October 1980; Series 2, Subject Files, March 1965-May 1980; Series 3, Publications, June 1967-August 1980. Series 3 includes 3 subseries: Subseries 3.1, Reports and Program Plans, 1967-1980; Subseries 3.2, Studies and Surveys, 1971-1980; and Subseries 3.3, Newsletters and Public Relations, 1967-1980.

Dates: 1965 - 1980