Skip to main content

East Tennessee State University. Office of the Vice-President for Academic Affairs



The Office of the Vice-President for Academic Affairs was preceded in function by the Dean of the Faculty. The dean reported directly to the : president and was responsible for the academic endeavors of all departments. The following persons served as Dean of the Faculty:

Charles Hodge Mathes, 1911-1921 David Sinclair Burleson, 1921-1946 P. W. Alexander, 1947-1959 Mack P. Davis, 1960-1976

In 1973 the title of this administrator was changed to Vice-President for Academic Affairs. Since 1976, the office has been headed by:

Christopher Bramlett, 1977-1981. Donald Goodman, Interim Vice-President 1982-1983 Robert J. Alfonso, 1984-1993 Bert C. Bach, 1994-

In the present organization of the university, the Vice-President for Academic Affairs is one of four vice-presidents: Vice-President for Health Affairs; Vice-President for Administration and Development; and the Vice-President for Student Affairs. Reporting directly to the president, the Office of the Vice-President for Academic Affairs oversees the operation of the academic colleges, graduate studies, contracts and grants office, Faculty Senate, Academic Council, library, and admissions. An organization chart follows. The office is presently located in Dossett Hall, room 206.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Office of the Vice-President for Academic Affairs Records

 Collection — Other Box 1-14: [Barcode: aspace.r.440.other.Box 1-14]
Identifier: UnivRec-0261

The collection is divided into four series: Series 1, General Office Files, Series 2, President's Council Minutes, Series 3, Academic Council Minutes, and Series 4, Curriculum Committee Minutes.

Dates: 1950-1990