Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

East Tennessee State University Athletic Committee


East Tennessee State University's Athletic Committee was established sometime prior to 1956 as an administrative council for the management of ETSU intercollegiate sports. It was formed by faculty and administrators to designate rules and regulations governing university sports policies, identify the administration's role in the creation of institutional policies, regulate ETSU's athletic scholarship program, and coordinate the university's regional and national conference affiliations.

The meetings of the athletic committee were held once each semester with additional sessions called to order when needed. Members of the committee included: Solan Gentry, committee chairman; John Clack, business manager; Scott Honaker, athletic director; President Burgin Dossett; Professors Willis Bible, Thomas P. Copeland, Robert Paynter, Sidney Rice, and Frank Williams; and Deans P. W. Alexander, Mack P. Davis, and Ella Ross.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

East Tennessee State University Athletic Committee Minutes

 Collection — other: Box 1
Identifier: UnivRec-128
Arrangement The records are arranged chronologically according to the dates of the Athletic Committee meetings.