Skip to main content

University School (Johnson City, Tenn.)

 Organization

The University School, currently known as University High School, was a program established through state funding in 1911 in conjunction with the creation of East Tennessee Normal School. Its program, an extension of the normal school and sponsored by the state of Tennessee, was designed to provide practical classroom training experience to individuals pursuing a teaching certificate from the Johnson City normal school. The University School was originally referred to as the "Observation and Practice School," with Professor Samuel W. Sherrill serving as its first director. The first four years of the practice school saw a gradual expansion of the program (which encompassed grades 1 through 7) with the addition of an eighth grade curriculum in 1914. The school was relocated from the administration building to a separate structure referred to as the Model School in 1915. This building was eventually replaced by a three-story structure in 1929 and renamed the Training School.

The Training School continued to grow during the 1930s and early 1940s, and in 1948 the state of Tennessee finally approved the addition of a 12th grade curriculum to the school program. In 1963, East Tennessee State gained university status, and the name of the Training School was changed to University School. Seven years later, the building was dedicated as Alexander Hall after Dr. Philip Alexander, an early director of the Model School between 1927 and 1948. In 1979, the Tennessee Board of Regents withdrew direct financial support for ETSU's Training School along with the state's other training schools. As a result, the University School became part of the Washington County School System, but the program continues to be administered through ETSU's College of Education.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

University School Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UnivRec-334
Arrangement The records are organized into two series: Series 1, Administrative Files, 1947-1952 and Series 2, Parent-Teacher Association Records, 1955-1993 and undated.
Dates: 1947-1993 and undated