Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

East Tennessee State University. Department of Family and Consumer Sciences


Home Economics was one of the original subjects taught at East Tennessee State University when it was founded as a normal school for the training of teachers in 1911. In 1914, it was made a department as Domestic Science and Arts. In 1917, it was renamed the Department of Home Economics, which it remained until renamed in 1992 as the Department of Applied Human Sciences. The department was renamed again in 2003 as the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences.

The first instructor in home economics was Della Stroud, who soon resigned and was replaced by Alexandra Allen Arrants. Arrants was followed by Elizabeth B. Armstrong in 1912 and Nettie Armstrong in 1913. In 1917, with the establishment of the Department of Home Economics, Ada Hornsby (later Ada Hornsby Earnest) became department chair, a position she held until her retirement in 1955. In 1958, Vivian Rockwood began another long tenure as chair, retiring from the position in 1976. For a more complete list of department heads, see the “Academic and Administrative Register of East Tennessee State University” maintained in the archives.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Department of Family and Consumer Sciences Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: 100-UnivRec 716
Arrangement The collection is arranged into two series, as follows: Series 1, Scrapbooks and Publications, 1949-1990; and Series 2, Photographs and Slides, undated.