Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

East Tennessee State University. School of Graduate Studies


The School of Graduate Studies began in the summer of 1950 under the direction of R. H. Eliassen. He served as dean of the school until 1963 when James Hodges replaced him in the position for the year of 1964. Richard Stevenson (1964-67), Arthur H. DeRosier (1968-73), Elizabeth McMahan (1973-83), and Richard A. Crofts (1983-89) followed Hodges in the office. In 1990, the acting dean of the School of Graduate Studies was James H. Potts.

The School of Graduate Studies, which reports to the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs, has numerous functions. Among these are editing graduate students' theses, insuring that students meet graduation requirements, publishing a graduate newsletter, and helping students apply for admission to graduate programs.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

School of Graduate Studies Records

 Collection — other: Boxes 1-4
Identifier: 100-UnivRec 187
Arrangement The collection consists of a single series: Series 1, Subject Files, 1950-1984. The files are arranged alphabetically by subject.