Skip to main content

East Tennessee State University. School of Applied Science and Technology



The School of Applied Science and Technology was established ni 1979 and functioned as an academic administrative unit at ETSU until its name was changed in 1993 to the College of Applied Science and Technology. The Unit was headed by a dean. The first dean of the school was W. Rollin Williams, III (1979-1984), followed by James A. Hales (1984-1993). Hales served as the first dean of the College of Applied Science and Technology from 1993 until 2000. Carroll Hyder served as interim dean of the college from 2000 until the college was dissolved on July 1, 2003 for budgetary reasons. At that time, the Departments of Computer and Information Systems, Technology, Military Science, and Applied Human Sciences were transferred to the newly restructured College of Business and Technology. Geology was incorporated into the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:

School of Applied Science and Technology Records

Identifier: UnivRec-0348
Scope and Contents The records of the School of Applied Science and Technology document the management of the technology curriculum and instruction at ETSU prior to the formation of the school to oversee these operations in 1979. The collection includes correspondence, reports, financial records, brochures, teaching load reports, and general office files. Among topices covered in the collection are co-operative education, vocational education, course requirements, certificate and degree information,...
Dates: 1953-1979

University Council minutes

 Unprocessed Material
Identifier: 1991-066
Dates: 1987 - 1991

Additional filters:

Unprocessed Material 1
Collection 1
Industrial arts -- Study and teaching 1
Vocational education 1