Skip to main content

East Tennessee State University. College of Medicine



Founded in 1974, the Quillen College of Medicine became the second state supported medical school in Tennessee along with the University of Tennessee Medical Units in Memphis. The establishment of a medical school in Johnson City was strongly opposed by much of the rest of the state of Tennessee. Led by James H. Quillen in the United States Congress and State Representatives P.L. Robinson and Gwen Fleming, as well as State Senator Marshall Nave and members of the ETSU community such as President D.P. Culp, Dean John Lamb, and Dr. Charles Allen, the entire East Tennessee community pushed to get one of the five medical schools funded under the Teague-Cranston Act located in Johnson City. Initially, the College of Medicine was named the Quillen-Dishner College of Medicine. In 1989 Dishner was dropped from the name and the school became the James H. Quillen College of Medicine, commonly referred to as simply the Quillen College of Medicine.

The Teague-Cranston Act, passed in 1972, created five new medical schools in the United States, provided that those schools were located contiguous with a V.A. hospital. This particular provision made Johnson City an ideal location given the existence of the V.A. campus at Mountain Home just across the road from East Tennessee State University.

The Quillen College of Medicine was intended to help combat the severe doctor shortage in East Tennessee by focusing on primary and rural health care, with the hope that many of the graduates would choose to stay and work in the underserved areas of East Tennessee. In 1978 the first students began their academic careers at what was then called the Quillen-Dishner College of Medicine.

Author: Nicholas Fann

UnivRec 822

Found in 6 Collections and/or Records:

Majid A. Ejlali Maps

Identifier: UnivRec-0430
Scope and Contents

The Majid A. Ejlali Maps consist of Tennessee city census maps created by Ejlali as part of a university proposal to establish a medical school at East Tennessee State University as well as campus maps created by Ejlali. There are also some unsigned maps that were probably not created by Ejlali but used in developing the ETSU maps.

Dates: 1969 - 1972

James H. Quillen College of Medicine Records

Identifier: UnivRec-0822
Scope and Contents The bulk of the College of Medicine Records concerns the campaign to establish a freestanding medical school in Johnson City, TN in the late 1960s and early 1970s. The collection consists of newspaper clippings, reports commissioned by East Tennessee State University and others concerning the establishment of a second state funded medical school, correspondence, photographs, blueprints and all related to the establishment of the Quillen College of Medicine. Former ETSU President, D.P....
Dates: 1966-2005

James H. Quillen Papers

 Collection — Other Roll 1
Identifier: AppMs-0498
Arrangement The papers are arranged into ten series as follows: Series 1, General Office Records, 1945-1997 and undated; Series 2, Legislative Files, 1957-1996 and undated; Series 3, Project Files, 1958-1996 and undated; Series 4, Public Relations Files, 1956-1997 and undated; Series 5, Government Departments and Agencies Files, 1963-1996 and undated; Series 6, Miscellaneous Records, 1928-1996 and undated; Series 7, Memorabilia, 1964-1999 and undated; Series 8, Scrapbooks, c. 1945-1997; Series 9,...
Dates: 1918 - 1999

John P. Lamb, Jr. Collection

Identifier: UnivRec-0439
Scope and Contents

The John P. Lamb, Jr. Collection consists of correspondence, memoranda, and reports related to various issues which involved Lamb as dean of the College of Health at ETSU. Topics cover the construction of the Speech and Hearing Center, the development of a medical school at ETSU, the reorganization of the College of Health into the School of Public and Allied Health, the School of Nursing, and the Appalachian Regional Center for the Healing Arts.

Dates: 1957-1979

Johnson City-Washington County Area Chamber of Commerce Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: AppMs-0193

The collection is divided into two series: Series 1, Scrapbooks, 1939-77; and Series 2, Other Materials, 1914-81 and undated.

Dates: 1914-1981

School of Graduate Studies Records

Identifier: UnivRec-0187
Scope and Contents The School of Graduate Studies Records contain general incoming and outgoing correspondence and memoranda, financial documents, committee minutes, reports, newsclippings, and photographs relating to the graduate office's operation and interaction with professional organizations and campus departments and offices. The records also include departmental files which focus on curricula requirements, recruitment of students, enrollment, and accreditation. Materials relating to students include...
Dates: 1950-1984; Majority of material found within 1970 - 1983

Additional filters:

Corporation records 4
Maps 3
Personal papers 3
Photographs 2
Publications (document genre) 2