Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

East Tennessee State University. Institute for Appalachian Affairs


Administrative History

The Institute for Appalachian Affairs (IAA) at East Tennessee State University was founded in 1978 as an outgrowth of university's commitment to quality education and scholarly research and to the preservation of the social and cultural heritage of the southern Appalachian region. The IAA planned, developed, and implemented programs and projects to meet the identified needs of the academic and non-academic communities. The oversight committee for IAA was appointed in July 1983 by Dr. Lattie Collins, interim vice-president for academic affairs. Members of the committee were Dr. Ellen Garrison, Dr. Emmett Essin, Alvin Gerhardt, Dr. Judith Hammond, Dr. Jack Shrader, Dr. J. Squibb, Dr. Abbott Brayton, and Ambrose Manning.

Found in 2 Collections and/or Records:

Arthur DeRosier Inauguration Collection

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UnivRec-100
Arrangement The collection is organized into five series as follows: Series 1, Subject Files, 1978 and undated; Series 2, Scrapbook, 1978; Series 3, Audio-Visual Recordings, 1978; Series 4, Newspaper Negative Sheets, 1978; and Series 5, Photographs, 1978.

Oversight Committee for the Institute for Appalachian Affairs Records

 Collection — other: Box 1
Identifier: 100-UnivRec 214
Arrangement The records are organized into a single series and are arranged alphabetically by subject/title.