Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

East Tennessee State University. Department of Military Science


ETSU’s Department of Military Science was established on campus in 1952 as the Department of Military Science and Tactics. Its primary mission has been to operate the United States Army’s Reserved Officers’ Training Corps (ROTC) program on campus. The modern Army ROTC was created by the National Defense Act of 1916 and commissioned its first class of lieutenants in 1920. It was patterned after the British Officers Training Corps, which supplied most of the British officers in World War I. Each year graduating students in the program can be commissioned and enter the U. S. Army with the rank of second lieutenant. The department’s first chairman and the ROTC unit’s first commander was Lt. Col. Willys H. Pearson.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Department of Military Science Collection

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: 100-UnivRec 712
Arrangement The collection is arranged into two series, as follows: Series 1, Publications, 1943-1992; and Series 2, Photographs, 1999-2000.

Material in Series 1 is arranged by publication title and then chronologically. Photographs in Series 2 are arranged by date order.