Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

East Tennessee State University. Department of Sociology and Anthropology


The academic subjects of sociology and anthropology were originally housed within the Department of History at ETSU (then East Tennessee State Normal School). In 1933, these subjects were reorganized into a Department of Social Studies. In 1950, the subjects within the social studies department were reorganized into the following academic departments: Department of History, Department of Geography, and the Department of Economics and Sociology. In 1955, a separate Department of Sociology was created with Dr. Dorman G. Stout, Sr., serving as the first department chairman. The department name was changed to its present form (Department of Sociology and Anthropology) in 1978 with Dr. Robert P. Sessions as chairman.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Department of Sociology and Anthropology Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: 100-UnivRec 362
Arrangement The collection is arranged alphabetically by subject with oversized materials filed last.