Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Daughters of the American Revolution-John Sevier Chapter


The John Sevier Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution was chartered on January 28, 1908 with 23 charter members. These members were Miss Mayes Arnell, first regent of the chapter, Mrs. Ellen Campbell Berry, Mrs. Kathrine Stivers Brading, Mrs. Jessie Kirkpatrick Bowman, Miss Rhoda McDowell Campbell, Mrs. Torry Stanley Harris, Mrs. Florence Gerhart Metzger, Mrs. Ada Wood Taylor, Miss Faye Whiteside, Mrs. May Mayne Williams, Miss Essie Davis Wood, Mrs. Sallie Ada Rogan Wood, Mrs. Florence Potter Harris Wofford, Mrs. Harriet H. Osborne, Mrs. Annie Brownlow Hacker, Mrs. Sue Rogan Wood Hernden, Mrs. Nannie Sevier Sabin, Mrs. Margaret Seneker Wofford, Mrs. Rachel Fain Wood, Miss Margaret Elizabeth Fain, Mrs. Carrie Fain Mosser, Mrs. Rachel Wilder Maher, and Mrs. Hattie R. Arnell.

Objectives of the Daughters of the American Revolution are:

1) to perpetuate the memory and spirit of the men and women who achieved American Independence; 2) to cherish, maintain, and extend the institutions of American freedom; 3) to foster true patriotism and love of country; and 4) to aid in securing for all mankind all the blessings of liberty.

The local chapter also supports various local educational scholarships, collects books on local history and genealogy, and instructs the foreign born on citizenship and education.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Daughters of the American Revolution-John Sevier Collection

 Collection — other: Boxes 1-4
Identifier: AppMs-20
Arrangement The collection is divided into four series: Series 1, Organizational Records, 1908-1972 and undated; Series 2, Activities’ Records, 1918-1979 and undated; Series 3, Publications, 1932-1987 and undated; and Series 4, Miscellaneous Reports, Pamphlets, and Certificates, 1924-86 and undated.